My First Blog Post!

Standard

Well . . . here I am!

I’m not exactly sure how to handle the whole “blog-thing,” but my goal is to figure it out soon.  I want to write about my journey as I prepare for Ecuador and during my time in Ecuador.  Hopefully, we can stay connected – or begin a connection – during this time.

As I say prepare for Ecuador, the process has been S-L-O-W.  Or, maybe I have been slow. 🙂  Hmph.  Some of the things I’ve been working on are: finding a foster home for my dog Hannah, selling my car, finding a storage unit, purchasing international insurance (this is NOT an easy task because most people think you are speaking a foreign language when you ask about that), trying to learn Spanish, and getting a will written up (that’s a fun thought, I know).  With that being said, I have completed none of the tasks, but have made headway on most of them.  One day, I hope to tell you that I have completed all of my tasks.

WorldTeach, the organization I am traveling with to Ecuador, confirmed my flight today.  I leave on Sunday, September 2.  Wow . . . that’s only 40 days away!  I have a feeling that while it sounds like a lot of days, it will be here pretty quickly.

With that being said, my biggest hope is not to dwell on my “to do” list.   I really want to enjoy these days too.  I wonder what some fun things would be to do in St. Louis to soak in the city before I go.

  • What would you suggest I do to savor my time in St. Louis?
  • What would you do if you only had 40 days until you left the country for a year?

Post some comments because I’d love to read your ideas!  Thanks for reading my first post!

18 responses »

  1. The first thing you need to do is come hang out with me at my pool again! Well… you should actually do that several times before you leave!
    This is great. I am so glad you are doing it. It will be a great way to share this amazing experience with all of us that will miss you, but are so proud of you for following your heart.

    • Thanks for being my FIRST comment Pam. Now, you are my FIRST reply. 🙂
      I would love to hang out at your pool again . . . just name a date, ok?
      And . . . thanks for the encouragement. Talk to you soon!

  2. Hey Rachael, Great job in setting up the blog! What an adventure that lies ahead!! I must admit some envy. I remember your initial hesitation in going on your first trip to Honduras! Have things ever changed since then!? Hopefully you won’t sell your car until the day before you leave otherwise those 40 days in St. Louis could be pretty boring! Camille and I will come up with some thoughts and let you know soon! Hablaremos más tarde nuestra hermana en Cristo.

    • Hey buddy . . . it is great to hear from you!
      You and Camille have been so encouraging during these past few years with the many adventures.
      I am excited to keep in touch with you guys through this blog after I leave. 🙂
      I look forward to hearing your suggstions about things to do in St. Louis.
      Hasta pronto!

  3. I’m so proud of you Turken! Can’t wait to see you and hear more about journey this weekend! And you know the one thing I do every trip to STL …Go Cards =)

    • Hola Jen! Yes, we will talk this weekend! I look forward to hanging out with you.
      And, I will TRY my best to get in a Cardinals’ game – for you – before September 2!

  4. Rachael this looks AMAZING!! You were a great pupil, obviously. Before you go, I’d say make sure you get some special time with all your closest friends and family. They’ll miss you TONS while you’re gone! As for what I’d do if I only had 40 days left? I’d spend the first 39 chillin and putting off my to-do list, and then cram it all in during that last day. Procrastination is an art, sister! Can’t wait to hear what other amazing things are ahead for you. You are amazing, and the people of Ecuador are beyond lucky to get to have you. Listen for His voice–He’ll lead you right where He wants you. And I know that’s where you want to be. 🙂

    • Jenny/Jennifer/Jen – a great pupil?!? I had a GREAT teacher. 🙂
      Thank you for the advice to spend time with friends/family. I hope to do that for sure.
      And, I appreciate your positive words about this adventure. I need those!
      Keep in touch blog-buddy. 🙂
      See you soon.

  5. This sounds pretty exciting! Keep me posted and let me know if you are having a going away party before you leave. Otherwise, let’s grab coffee or a bite to eat before you take off!

  6. Hi Rachael!

    I would suggest you hang out with me before you leave because I will miss you dearly 🙂
    I also think it would be okay to ask for some help to cross things off your list. I am sure any of your family and friends (including me) would be more than willing to help you!!!
    I would also spend so much time with Hannah because you will both miss each other dearly.

    If I think of fun things to do in St. Louis, I will let you know. Right now, I suggest something indoors because it is too hot unless you are swimming. 🙂

    Lots of love!
    Nicci

  7. Hola Rachael! 🙂
    This is a nice way to hear from you during your time in Ecuador!
    Is coming so soon! So excited to hear all about it!
    Muchos abrazos y oraciones para ti!

    Love,
    Bea

    • Beatriz . . . thank you for your kind words and hugs. 🙂 I am glad you are excited to hear about this journay . . . I am excited to share it with you. Talk to you soon!

  8. I’m so excited for you, Rachael! Some St. Louis things?!?!? I suggest Crown Candy and a bike ride on the Katy Trail! Let me know if you want someone to go with 🙂

  9. We love you so much. It’ll be very hard not having you close by. We hope you have a
    fantastic experience. C’mon over and spend some more time here–that’s always a
    fun time because we are so active!
    Love you bunches!
    Mom & Dad & your best friend, MAX!!!

  10. Hola Rachael! You did a great job setting up your blog. I can’t wait to follow your big adventure in Ecuador. I had a good time with you and the rest of the guys from Spanish class. Going to Fast Eddie’s this afternoon for their shrimp and the coldest beer around:) Read you later!

Leave a Reply

