One Week to Go!

Standard

Hello again.  Remember the hard work I projected would take place all of last week? (I needed to pack-up my two bedroom apartment that I have lived in for about 8 years.)  About 75% of my packing took place on Friday night, since I was fully aware that friends were coming to load my two storage units on Saturday morning . . . and they probably wouldn’t be too excited to see an unpacked apartment.  Is that procrastination?  Possibly.  However, I like to think of it as pacing myself . . . and then sprinting to the end. 🙂

The friends that helped were completely A-M-A-Z-I-N-G.  Seriously.  They were so good that a neighbor asked for their card because she thought they were an actual moving service.  And, check out the picture of the storage units.  It is hard to believe that 95% of my worldly possessions fit inside of there!

Before the packing began, there was some major doubt about whether my things would fit or not.  Granted, from the picture, you can see that my friend in the black shirt is almost as tall as the unit.  Yes, he is tall, however, the limited space still made packing tricky.  The good news is that we conqurered the negativity and now my belongings are so securely packed inside the two units that nothing should fall over during the transport to the storage facility.  Fitting everything in was kind of like a game of Tetris.

Currently, I am living at my brother and sister-in-law’s house for the next week.  This is my new home for 7 days.  How kind of them to let me stay at their house with my niece and nephew, Addison and Tyler.  Tonight, I have the pleasure of sleeping on the floor in my niece’s room while she sleeps in her bed.  She was excited to have me here and I just couldn’t say no to the offer. 🙂

Next Sunday, I leave St. Louis at 6:30AM and arrive in Miami, Florida around 10:30AM.  From there, I will meet up with some of the other WorldTeach volunteers and we will fly to Ecuador together in the afternoon.  We arrive in Ecuador around 11:30PM.  I found out this week that am the “point person” for WorldTeach in Miami.  This means that I am to make sure that all of the volunteers on my flight arrive on time and that we aren’t missing anyone.  I suppose the WorldTeach office must have looked at my resume and saw that I have taught first and second grade and knew that the ongoing counting of students would come in handy for this task.  I hope I can handle it.

I recently found out a bit more about my orientation in Quito.  It will last about 3 1/2 weeks and my host family will come and pick me up at the end of our first day, Monday, September 3.  Think of me on Labor Day, when you are having a barbecue – I’ll be meeting the family I will have the privilege to live with the next few weeks.  Good stuff.

My dad and I are headed to sell my car tomorrow in Independence, Missouri.  The car has been really fun, but, it’s time to say goodbye.  Here’s a picture of my friend Rob in my car.  Believe it or not, this is the only picture I have of my car!  Sorry Rob, you have to be a model for this one. 🙂

I’m not sure if I have mentioned to you that there will be about 30 other WorldTeach volunteers in Quito with me during orientation.  I am excited to meet so many new people.  However, sometimes I get nervous . . . and quiet.  Argh.

  • What tips/advice do you have for me as I meet so many new people in the coming days?
  • What are things you like to remember when you are placed in unfamiliar situations?

I hope to see many of you this week! 🙂

8 responses »

  1. Wow, this is about the closest thing to “sell everything and follow me” that I can think of. So you should probably be the one answering your questions for us. “So many new people …” – that is a good question. I’ll try to figure out an answer before Tuesday. hugs, me 🙂

  2. Good Morning Rachael! Just be yourself and people will love you. You are an engaging, energetic person and you have a super smile, so you will do just fine:) Enjoy your time in Ecuador and soak up everything. What a great adventure. I’ll be thinking of you. Don’t forget to pronounce your vowels properly and make Ann proud!

  3. Hi Rachael! I think you will do great meeting new people. You are very welcoming to everyone that comes in your path. When I first met you, I loved your honesty and friendliness. You go out of your way to make other people feel comfortable. I would just tell you to be yourself because you have so many friends that love you just the way you are. When I get intimidated, I just remember that I am not alone. I also try to use humor to lighten a mood. You will do great friend, I have no doubt! 🙂

  4. Rachael, People love to repeat their names for someone who really cares to know them. No need to say, “Tell me your name again; I’ve forgotten.” Better something like, “You are someone I hope to see again soon. Will you write down your name here?” I once had a pastor who kept a file card in his shirt pocket. Every day he made notes of the people he met . . . and it made us feel so important, so cherished when he remembered us. Nancy H

  5. Hey Rachael! Going to miss you in class tonight. Man, the time between classes went way too fast. Thinking of you and wishing you the very best.

Leave a Reply

