Unas de Ecuador

Standard

Men . . . you might just want to delete this post now.  However, if you’re interested in hearing about some girly things in Ecuador . . . read on! 🙂

What the heck are unas?!?!  Unas is the Spanish word for nails.  And, as some of you know, I have enjoyed getting my nails done on two different occasions . . . so far.  I know that usually nails don’t seem very exciting, but in Ecuador it is quite an art.  Seriously.

When you go into a nail salon, there are usually some books for you to look at in order to decide which design you want painted on your nails.  This is very different than in the U.S. because all you choose is the color for your nails.  In Ecuador, the polish color is an afterthought . . . it’s the design that really matters.

It’s quite a process of how the nail artists obtain the finished product.  First, one woman puts on your base color of polish.  Next, another woman puts the art on your nails (this is whatever design you chose from the book). This is done with acrylic paint (yes, acrylic paint!) and stencils.  It’s really interesting actually.  They have some sort of “air gun” that they use to spray the paint onto your nails through the stencil.  It’s quite messy at this point because there is paint on both your nails and on your skin.  Finally, another woman completes the final touches for your nails.  She puts on any additional color polish that might be needed to complete the design, a top coat, and cleans off all of the color from your skin.  Amazing, huh?

So, I’ve decided I’ll try to have fun with getting different nail art while I’m here. I might as well play a little bit, right?  And, one of the best parts is that it only costs $2.  Crazy, huh?

Thanks for being interested in nail art in Ecuador.  I bet that is something you never thought you’d learn about today, huh?  🙂  Have a great day!

5 responses »

  1. I love your toes, gorgeous shade of purple and the design is very cute! I bet your female students have admired your Ecua-stylish nails. I got your email and will respond as soon as possible. (Susy is in Atuntaqui but should be back tomorrow afternoon/evening). Hope your classes continue to be great, all the best!

  2. Rachel, I think that is too cool! Thanks for sharing the process~sounds like quite a process and for $2! I would go as much as I could while I was there, too!! 🙂 We miss you at Robinson and I hope you have a way to acknowledge/celebrate Thanksgiving while you are away this year! Take care and keep posting!

  3. Hahaha. That is a cute posting. While I will never personally need the service, $2 seems like a bargain for all that work. Have a great Thanksgiving my friend!

  4. Rachael, hi there. How are you doing? I only read your blog about your nails, very fun! I need to go back and read your other blogs. I hope your enjoying your stay. I can’t believe it’s almost Thanksgiving. Will you be able to come home for Xmas?
    I’m doing great, I do miss my friends at Robinson, but it’s also nice to be at home with my little charges. I have 2 kids now, 2 different niece’s kids. It’s a lot of fun, but I got to admit I’m tired when I’m done.
    Well I’m going to go back and read your other entries to catch up on you.
    Take care,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

