A Potpourri of Photos!

Standard

I have several photos that I’ve collected over the past months that I would like to share.  I hope you enjoy seeing a wide

assortment of photos in this post.  As always, thanks for joining me on this journey . . . I appreciate it.

chimborazoHere is a picture of me after hiking part of Chimborazo.

This volcano is a beautiful sight in Riobamba and was amazing to hike too!

barcelona game

I went to a Barcelona (from Guayaquil – not Spain) soccer game and LOVED it.  You can see from the picture

how passionate fans are for their team . . . especially the guy who climbed the fence!  How fun!

ile christmasThe school where I teach English went Christmas caroling one evening at a park and at a few other areas in town.

This picture was taken right before we left to impress everyone with our beautiful singing voices.

preile

One day, my school served food to homeless individuals in the Riobamba community.  In addition,

some of the younger students from the school sang Christmas carols.  It was a great day!

holding hands

I promise this is not supposed to be a “butt-shot” of my students.  I simply want you to see how sweet

the Ecuadorian culture is and how oftentimes when girlfriends walk places together – they hold hands.  I love it!

maria cookingMaria is an amazing cook!  Here she is preparing lunch one day.

It was very hard work grinding the plantains and then making soup.  Way to go Maria!

classroom

Here is a picture of the classroom at my school.  Yes, there is a post in the middle of

the room.  But surprisingly, the post isn’t quite as distracting as you might think! 🙂

meatballsMy school had a Food Fair in which each class researched a country, made food from the country, and presented

it to others at a celebration.  My class learned about Sweden and did a fabulous job presenting their research.

sweden Here are two of my wonderful students, Jhon and Veronica, from the Food Fair!  Notice the signs in the background too!

bday partyI had the opportunity to attend a child’s birthday party a few weeks ago.  This picture shows the clowns

at the party (very common in Ecuador) lighting the candles on the cake.  Also, I promise the clown on the right

wasn’t as creepy as he looks in the picture . . . the lighting was just at an awkward angle at that moment.

cesar and his family

Here is a picture of my Spanish teacher, Cesar, and his family.

Cesar puts up with my struggling Spanish skills for 2 hours each day . . . poor guy!

caballos For the first time in my life, I went on a horseback riding tour!  How fun!  My friend, Ali, and I went to Banos

(2 hours from Riobamba) and went on a tour up a mountain.  It was great – despite the constant rain! 🙂

gusano.planta

During the trip to Banos, we also saw some amazing plants.  Here is one of them!  Cool, huh?

carne

Here is a picture of some meat I saw one day when I was walking down the street.

I had to look twice to see if I was really looking at a cut up pig in the back of a truck.  Blech.

nacimiento

As families in Ecuador decorate their homes for Christmas, many make a Nativity scene like this.

The scenes are elaborate and they are interesting to look at.  This one is at the house of my host family in Quito.

flores

Ecuador is one of the top exporters of flowers in the world.  Every time I have an opportunity,

I enjoy walking past florists on one particular street in Riobamba.  They are beautiful!

job

Now it’s your turn . . . you have a job!  Please reply by posting a comment below.  I love hearing from you guys!

  • Which picture from above is your favorite?  Why do you like this picture?
  • What would you like to see more pictures of in Ecuador?  I am more than happy to take requests!
12 responses »

  1. My 2 Favorite are…the girls walking and holding hands, just as you said it is sweet. My second favorite is the one of you on a horse. It proves again that you are putting yourself out there and trying new things. I mean we do have horses here you could ride, but you chose to travel around the world to do it. I actually love all the pictures you are posting and so glad I got to see you Friday. Take care and keep the posts and pics coming.

    • Pam . . . thank you for your comments . . . I appreciate reading your thoughts. I am glad that you enjoyed the picture of my students holding hands . . . I didn’t know if people would appreciate that one like I did. 🙂 And the horse, well – he was just cute, scary . . . and fun – that’s all there is to say about that experience. I, too, loved seeing you on Friday . . . although it was too short. But . . . July will be here before we know it, so we can catch up more then, ok?

  2. I’m not sure how much I would want to each meat after seeing how they cart it around in the back of a pickup. Seems like people would be susceptible to disease. Or do they merely take this into consideration when they cook their food? The mountain climbing photo looks fun! So does the soccer game.

    • Hi Rob. I totally agree on the meat . . . kind of gross, huh? I keep realizing that I get closer and closer to becoming a vegetarian each day . . . go figure. Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  3. Rachael, I loved looking at the pictures that show so much of the culture of Equador. The red and white striped outfits the carolers wore are adorable. I also loved seeing your classroom. what a contrast to our busy, elaborate learning environments we have in the states. I am guessing you are back in Equador now. I wish I could have seen you while you were in, but it won’t be long! The Swedish meatballs made me smile as I recalled having my first taste of these With the delicious sauce at an IKEA store in Chicago:). I imagine it was a busy visit and full of family. I am thrilled that you had a chance to come home. YOU must have been in culture shock for a day or two upon your return to the states! Take care, my friend. I look forward to your next post – always love keeping in touch.
    Mary

    • Mary . . . you are SO sweet. Thank you for your reply. I agree that my classroom is extremely different than those at Robinson. Plus, I share the room with another teacher earlier in the day. Meaning, he uses it for his 8:00 and 3:00 classes and I use it for my 5:00 and 7:00 classes. I guess I could consider decorating, but I just haven’t crossed that bridge . . . maybe next cycle?!?! You know what was really neat about my students and I caroling (along with the rest of the school)? For many of the students, they had never caroled before. So, we provided that first experience for the students . . . I loved it. How fun! I hope to keep in touch with you Mary . . . you are one of my faithful blog followers. I love knowing that you are up to date on what’s going on in Ecuador. Take care . . . and Happy New Year!

  4. Wonderful pictures. I enjoyed seeing pictures of you doing what you do. Riding horses, or hiking up a volcano. You know, just every day stuff:) I enjoy your blog so much, Rachael. I Hope you had a great Christmas visiting your family and I know the New Year will be a blessing a day!

    • Hello Kathy! Thank you for your reply. I agree . . . I LOVED riding horses and hiking was pretty great too. I was just thinking of you the other day and how I would love to get together when I return in July and have a Spanish conversation. That means we BOTH have to keep working on our Spanish over these next 6 months so we can have a conversation together. Deal? I hope so. 🙂

      • That would be so great! Hope I can hold up my end of the conversation. I practice about an hour a day, but learning doesn’t come as easily as it used to:-) Class starts on the 29th and am really looking forward to seeing Ann again. Also, this class goes from 4P to 6P, and I like the earlier classes! Take care.

    • Cindy . . . thank you for your comment. That plant is pretty crazy, huh? I am glad you enjoyed the pictures of Ecuador. 🙂 It was so fun seeing you the other day – even if it was brief. See you again in July, ok? 🙂

  5. How fun!! I had missed this one for some strange reason…. Looks like you are having a great time! Enjoy every minute of it! 🙂 Yo quiero escalar Chimborazo contigo!! Un fuerte abrazo mi amiga!

Leave a Reply

