Baby Steps!

Standard

Hello again!  Thank you for those who have chosen to receive email notifications of my posts.  I am excited that people are truly interested in my upcoming journey to Ecuador – and the preparations.  Thank you very much!

Last time I wrote, I mentioned that I had a lot of items on my “to do” list.  While I find it interesting that things continue to get added to the list, I am happy to say that most of the BIG things have been taken care of at this point.  Yay!  I’ve found a storage unit, chosen NOT to purchase international insurance, had a will written, located a place to sell my car, and booked my flight.

The last major item to complete, which has my heart all over it, is finding a foster home for my dog, Hannah.  If you are not a dog lover, you might not truly empathize with this struggle, but trust me . . . it is H-A-R-D.  Let me tell you what I am learning.

Patience.  Trust.  Patience.  Trust.  And . . . patience.

A few years ago, I was reading from Oswald Chambers’ book, My Utmost for His Highest.  Something has stuck with me ever since then . . . gracious uncertainty – click on the colored words to be linked to the website with more about this amazing and encouraging perspective.  I need to remember that uncertainty is not a bad thing.  I can trust that God will provide, and I don’t always have to be completely certain about everything . . . even with my dog. 🙂

This week, I should find out the city where I will be placed to teach while I am in Ecuador.  I am excited to discover which city I will be in so I can begin learning about the area.  And then I can tell you where to come and visit me!

Thanks for the suggestions of “St. Louis Things” do to during my last days here.  I did bike on the Katy Trail, which was pretty great . . . until my bike tire popped.  Yeesh.  I must say though, that day was one of my favorite memories this summer.  It was completely relaxing being out in nature, wonderful being able to talk and laugh with a good friend, beautiful eating lunch outside, and hilarious when the tire-popping incident occurred. 🙂  With the summer officially winding down:

  • What has been your favorite memory from the summer?
  • What made it memorable?  Who were you with?

I’m excited to hear from you.  Thanks again for reading!  Hasta luego.

5 responses »

  1. Good to hear you are getting most of the important things taken care of.
    My favorite activity this summer has been “relaxing”. I think I have done a better job of it this year than in years gone by. One of my favorite ways to relax is to take my waverunner out on the river and park it on a sandbar for part of the day. I bring a small cooler, a book, a radio … very relaxing!

  2. My favorite thing to do this summer has been hanging out with friends and relaxing. These were two areas that seemed to always fall short to my busy work/life schedule. I was so happy to hang out with friends that I hadn’t seen in awhile. I also spent so much time relaxing and exercising with my dog, Macy. It was a great summer for me! What has been your favorite summer activity so far?

    • Hi Nicci! I loved to read that you were able to hang out with friends and relax . . . yay for you! I hope your new job continues to go well and I hope to see you before I leave!

Leave a comment